Fairness Aware Group Proportional Frequency Domain Resource Allocation in L-SC-FDMA Based Uplink
Irfan Ahmed, Amr Mohamed
DOI: 10.4236/ijcns.2011.48060   PDF    HTML     6,255 Downloads   11,439 Views   Citations


This paper presents virtual clusters based proportional fairness and resource allocation scheme for Localized Single Carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access (L-SC-FDMA). L-SC-FDMA has been selected as the uplink transmission scheme in 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) due to its low Peak to Average Power Ratio (PAPR) over OFDMA in general and high rate-sum capacity over Interleaved SC-FDMA in particular. Virtual cluster-based proportional fairness (VCPF) scheduler exploits the link adaptation information available at MAC layer to form virtual clusters. The distributed proportional fairness scheduler ensures a minimum throughput for all users in the coverage area by assigning contiguous RBs, proportional to the throughput and the number of users in a particular cluster or group. Simulations have been performed using practical scenario of uniformly distributed users in Rayleigh faded coverage area and design formulas have been devised for network planning to get the best possible fairness with promising level of quality of service (QoS).

Share and Cite:

I. Ahmed and A. Mohamed, "Fairness Aware Group Proportional Frequency Domain Resource Allocation in L-SC-FDMA Based Uplink," International Journal of Communications, Network and System Sciences, Vol. 4 No. 8, 2011, pp. 487-494. doi: 10.4236/ijcns.2011.48060.

Conflicts of Interest

The authors declare no conflicts of interest.


[1] S. Parkvall, E. Dahlman, A. Furuskar, Y. Jading, M. Olsson, S. W?nstedt and K. Zangi, “LTE-Advanced Evolving LTE towards IMT-Advanced,” Proceedings of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference, Calgary, 21-24 September 2008, pp. 1-5.
[2] 3GPP TR 36.913 V.9.0.0, “Requirements for Further Advancements for Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) (LTE-Advanced),” December 2009.
[3] 3GPP TR 36.814 V.9.0.0, “Further Advancements for E-UTRA Physical Layer Aspects,” Release 9, March 2010.
[4] J. S. Lim, H. G. Myung, K. J. Oh and D. J. Goodman, “Channel Dependent Scheduling of Uplink Single Carrier FDMA Systems,” 2006 IEEE 64th Vehicular Technology Conference, Montreal, 25-28 September 2006, pp. 1-5.
[5] L. Ruiz de Temino, G. Berardinelli, S. Frattasi and P. Mogensen, “Channel-Aware Scheduling Algorithms for SCFDMA in LTE Uplink,” IEEE 19th International Symposium on Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications, Cannes, 15-18 September 2008, pp. 1-6.
[6] C. Y. Ng and C. W. Sung, “Low Complexity Subcarrier and Power Allocation for Utility Maximization in Uplink OFDMA Systems,” IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, Vol. 7, No. 5, 2008, pp. 1667-1675. doi:10.1109/TWC.2008.060723.
[7] F. D. Calabrese, P. H. Michaelsen, C. Rosa, M. Anas, C. U. Castellanos, D. L. Villa, K. I. Pedersen, P. E. Mogensen, “Search-Tree Based Uplink Channel Aware Packet Scheduling for UTRAN LTE,” IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference, Singapore, 11-14 May 2008, pp. 1949-1953.
[8] E. Yaacoub and Z. Dawy, “A Game Theoretical Formulation for Proportional Fairness in LTE Uplink Scheduling,” IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference, Budapest, 5-8 April 2009, pp. 1-5.
[9] J. Huang, V. G. Subramanian, R. Agrawal and R. Berry, “Joint Scheduling and Resource Allocation in Uplink OFDM Systems for Broadband Wireless Access Networks,” IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Vol. 27, No. 2, 2009, pp. 226-234. doi:10.1109/JSAC.2009.090213
[10] H. G. Myung, J. S. Lim and D. J. Goodman, “Single Carrier FDMA for Uplink Wireless Transmission,” IEEE Vehicular Technology Magazine, Vol. 1, No. 3, 2006, pp. 30-38. doi:10.1109/MVT.2006.307304
[11] A. Goldsmith, “Wireless Communications,” Oxford University Press, Oxford, 2005.
[12] J. S. Lim, H. G. Myung, K. J. Oh and D. J. Goodman, “Proportional Fair Scheduling of Uplink Single-Carrier FDMA Systems,” IEEE 17th International Symposium on Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications, Helsinki, 11-14 September 2006, pp. 1-6.

Copyright © 2023 by authors and Scientific Research Publishing Inc.

Creative Commons License

This work and the related PDF file are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.